The Winemaker's Wife

18 September 2019 | By Kristin Harmel | Filed in: world war ii.

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Am lie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale.Champagne, 1940 In s has just married Michel, th

All the Flowers in Paris

18 September 2019 | By Sarah Jio | Filed in: world war ii.

Two women are connected across time by the city of Paris, a mysterious journal, and shocking secrets, sweeping from World War II to the present for readers of Sarah s Key When Caroline wakes up in a Paris hospital with no memory of her past, she s confused to learn that she s lived a sad, reclusiv

Cape (The League of Secret Heroes #1)

18 September 2019 | By Kate Hannigan | Filed in: world war ii.

A brilliant girl puzzler discovers she s part of a superhero team Josie O Malley does a lot to help out Mam after her father goes off to fight the Nazis, but she wishes she could do like all those caped heroes who now seem to have disappeared If Josie can t fly and control weather like her ido

The Golden Hour

18 September 2019 | By Beatriz Williams | Filed in: world war ii.

The New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Wives and A Certain Age creates a dazzling epic of World War II era Nassau a hotbed of spies, traitors, and the most infamous couple of the age, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor.The Bahamas, 1941 Newly widowed Leonora Lulu Randolph arrives in Nas

The Chelsea Girls

18 September 2019 | By Fiona Davis | Filed in: world war ii.

From Fiona Davis, the nationally bestselling author of The Dollhouse and The Address, the bright lights of the theater district, the glamour and danger of 1950s New York, and the wild scene at the iconic Chelsea Hotel come together in a dazzling new novel about the twenty year friendship that will i

Along the Broken Bay

18 September 2019 | By Flora J. Solomon | Filed in: world war ii.

From the bestselling author of A Pledge of Silence comes a story of resistance, intrigue, and risking it all in the WWII Philippines December 1941 War has erupted in the Pacific, spelling danger for Gina Capelli Thorpe, an American expat living in Manila When the Japanese invade and her husband

The Flight Girls

18 September 2019 | By Noelle Salazar | Filed in: world war ii.

A stunning story about the Women Airforce Service Pilots whose courage during World War II turned ordinary women into extraordinary heroes 1941 Audrey Coltrane has always wanted to fly It s why she implored her father to teach her at the little airfield back home in Texas It s why she signed up t

They Called Us Enemy

18 September 2019 | By George Takei | Filed in: world war ii.

A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor author activist George Takei s childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II Experience the forces that shaped an American icon and America itself in this gripping tale of courage, country, loyalty, and love George Tak

Costalegre

18 September 2019 | By Courtney Maum | Filed in: world war ii.

One of Literary Hub s Most Anticipated Books of 2019 A Best Book of Summer at amNY, Moda Operandi, Publishers Weekly, Southern Living, and Thrillist A Best Book of July at The Washington Post, Hello Giggles, Refinery 29, TIME Magazine, and Mind Body Green It is 1937, and Europe is on the brink of

George Marshall: Defender of the Republic

18 September 2019 | By David L. Roll | Filed in: world war ii.

The extraordinary career of George Catlett Marshall America s most distinguished soldier statesman since George Washington whose selfless leadership and moral character influenced the course of two world wars and helped define the American century Winston Churchill called him World War II s organi

Fire and Fortitude: The US Army in the Pacific War, 1941-1943

18 September 2019 | By John C. McManus | Filed in: world war ii.

An engrossing, epic history of the US Army in the Pacific War Out here, mention is seldom seen of the achievements of the Army ground troops, wrote one officer in the fall of 1943, whereas the Marines are blown up to the skies Even today, the Marines are celebrated as the victors of the Pacific