The Prisoner's Wife

02 June 2020 | By Maggie Brookes | Filed in: world war ii.

n Inspired by the true story of a daring deception that plunges a courageous young woman deep into the horrors of a Nazi POW camp to be with the man she loves n n nIn the dead of night, a Czech farm girl and a British soldier travel through the countryside Izabela and prisoner of war Bill have secre

The Paper Girl of Paris

02 June 2020 | By Jordyn Taylor | Filed in: world war ii.

Now n nSixteen year old Alice is spending the summer in Paris, but she isn t there for pastries and walks along the Seine When her grandmother passed away two months ago, she left Alice an apartment in France that no one knew existed An apartment that has been locked for than seventy years n nA

Exile Music

02 June 2020 | By Jennifer Steil | Filed in: world war ii.

Based on an unexplored slice of World War II history, Exile Music is the captivating story of a young Jewish girl whose family flees refined and urbane Vienna for safe harbor in the mountains of Bolivia n nAs a young girl growing up in Vienna in the 1930s, Orly has an idyllic childhood filled with mus

The White Rose Resists: A Novel of the German Students Who Defied Hitler

02 June 2020 | By Amanda Barratt | Filed in: world war ii.

Inspired by the incredible true story of a group of ordinary men and women who dared to stand against evil The ideal of a new Germany swept up Sophie Scholl in a maelstrom of patriotic fervor that is, until she realized the truth behind Hitler s machinations for the fatherland Now she and other st

The German Heiress

02 June 2020 | By Anika Scott | Filed in: world war ii.

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post World War II Germany n nClara Falkenberg, once Germany s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname the Iron Fr ulein during World War II for her rol

They Went Left

02 June 2020 | By Monica Hesse | Filed in: world war ii.

Germany, 1945 The soldiers who liberated the Gross Rosen concentration camp said the war was over, but nothing feels over to eighteen year old Zofia Lederman Her body has barely begun to heal her mind feels broken And her life is completely shattered Three years ago, she and her younger brother

On the Horizon

02 June 2020 | By Lois Lowry | Filed in: world war ii.

n From Lois Lowry comes an account of the lives lost in two of WWII s most infamous events Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima With black and white illustrations by Kenard Pak nLois Lowry looks back at history through a personal lens as she draws from her own memories as a child in Hawaii and Japan, as we

The Queen of Paris: A Novel of Coco Chanel

02 June 2020 | By Pamela Binnings Ewen | Filed in: world war ii.

Legendary fashion designer Coco Chanel is revered for her sophisticated style the iconic little black dress and famed for her intoxicating perfume Chanel No 5 Yet behind the public persona is a complicated woman of intrigue, shadowed by mysterious rumors The Queen of Paris, the new novel from a

The Tattooist of Auschwitz (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #1)

02 June 2020 | By Heather Morris | Filed in: world war ii.

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz Birkenau When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a T towierer the German word for tattooist , tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

The Beekeeper's Promise

02 June 2020 | By Fiona Valpy | Filed in: world war ii.

Heartbroken and hoping for a new start, Abi Howes takes a summer job in rural France at the Ch teau Bellevue The old ch teau echoes with voices from the past, and soon Abi finds herself drawn to one remarkable woman s story, a story that could change the course of her summer and her life n nIn 1938,

Sea of Memories

02 June 2020 | By Fiona Valpy | Filed in: world war ii.

When Kendra first visits her ailing grandmother, Ella has only one request that Kendra write her story down, before she forgets n nIn 1937, seventeen year old Ella s life changes forever when she is sent to spend the summer on the beautiful le de R and meets the charismatic, creative Christophe T

The Choice: Embrace the Possible

02 June 2020 | By Edith Eger | Filed in: world war ii.

It s 1944 and sixteen year old ballerina and gymnast Edith Eger is sent to Auschwitz Separated from her parents on arrival, she endures unimaginable experiences, including being made to dance for the infamous Josef Mengele When the camp is finally liberated, she is pulled from a pile of bodies, ba

The Beantown Girls

02 June 2020 | By Jane Healey | Filed in: world war ii.

n An Charts and Washington Post bestseller n n A novel of love, courage, and danger unfolds as World War II s brightest heroines the best of friends take on the front lines n1944 Fiona Denning has her entire future planned out She ll work in city hall, marry her fianc when he returns from

The Tuscan Child

02 June 2020 | By Rhys Bowen | Filed in: world war ii.

A novel about a woman who braves her father s hidden past to discover his secrets n nIn 1944, British bomber pilot Hugo Langley parachuted from his stricken plane into the verdant fields of German occupied Tuscany Badly wounded, he found refuge in a ruined monastery and in the arms of Sofia Bartoli.

Code Name Hélène

02 June 2020 | By Ariel Lawhon | Filed in: world war ii.

This book is based on the life of Nancy Wake, an Australian expat who worked as a reporter for Hearst in Paris just before WWII and later as a spy for the British Lawhon throws readers into the middle of the action, as Nancy, under the alias H l ne, prepares to parachute from an RAF plane into Fran

A Fire Sparkling

02 June 2020 | By Julianne MacLean | Filed in: world war ii.

From the USA Today bestselling author of A Curve in the Road comes a spellbinding novel about one woman s love, loss, and courage during wartime n nAfter a crushing betrayal by the man she loves, Gillian Gibbons flees to her family home for a much needed escape, but when she finds an old photograph o

White Rose, Black Forest

02 June 2020 | By Eoin Dempsey | Filed in: world war ii.

In the shadows of World War II, trust becomes the greatest risk of all for two strangers n nDecember 1943 In the years before the rise of Hitler, the Gerber family s summer cottage was filled with laughter Now, as deep drifts of snow blanket the Black Forest, German dissenter Franka Gerber is alone