The Beauty in Breaking: A Memoir

12 August 2020 | By Michele Harper | Filed in: race.

An emergency room physician explores how a life of service to others taught her how to heal herself n nMichele Harper is a female, African American emergency room physician in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white Brought up in Washington, DC, in an abusive family, she went to Harvard,

Blacktop Wasteland

12 August 2020 | By S.A. Cosby | Filed in: race.

Beauregard Bug Montage husband, father, honest car mechanic But he was once known from North Carolina to the beaches of Florida as the best getaway driver on the East Coast Just like his father, who disappeared many years ago n nAfter a series of financial calamities worsened by the racial

This Is My America

12 August 2020 | By Kim Johnson | Filed in: race.

Dear Martin meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting YA novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system n nEvery week, seventeen year old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row Af

Intimations

12 August 2020 | By Zadie Smith | Filed in: race.

Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of essays on the experience of lock down, by one of the most clear sighted and essential writers of our time n n There will be many books written about the year 2020 historical, analytic, political and comprehensive accounts This is no

Surrender, White People!: Our Unconditional Terms for Peace

12 August 2020 | By D.L. Hughley | Filed in: race.

In this follow up to his hilarious yet soul shaking Black Enterprise New York Times bestseller How Not to Get Shot, comedy legend D L Hughley offers satirical terms for a peace treaty between white America and the rest of humanity.For than four hundred years, white America has been safely

The Names of All the Flowers

12 August 2020 | By Melissa Valentine | Filed in: race.

Melissa and her older brother Junior grow up running around the disparate neighborhoods of 1990s Oakland, two of six children to a white Quaker father and a black Southern transplant mother Their house is flanked by both crime scenes and boutique cheese shops, and they play across these borders dur

The Vanishing Half

12 August 2020 | By Brit Bennett | Filed in: race.

The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it s not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it s everything their families, their communities, their racial identities.

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, #1)

12 August 2020 | By Roseanne A. Brown | Filed in: race.

The first in an fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction n nFor Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war stricken home and

A Song Below Water

12 August 2020 | By Bethany C. Morrow | Filed in: race.

Tavia is already at odds with the world, forced to keep her siren identity under wraps in a society that wants to keep her kind under lock and key Never mind she s also stuck in Portland, Oregon, a city with only a handful of black folk and even fewer of those with magical powers At least she has

You Should See Me in a Crown

12 August 2020 | By Leah Johnson | Filed in: race.

Liz Lighty has always believed she s too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom obsessed midwestern town But it s okay Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever attend the uber elite Pennington College, play in their world famous orchestra, and b

I'll Be the One

12 August 2020 | By Lyla Lee | Filed in: race.

The world of K Pop has never met a star like this Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom com celebrating confidence and body positivity perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy n nSkye Shin has heard it all Fat girls shouldn t dance Wear bright colors Shouldn t cal

Antiracist Baby

12 August 2020 | By Ibram X. Kendi | Filed in: race.

Antiracist Baby introduces the youngest readers and the grown ups in their lives to the concept and power of antiracism Providing the language necessary to begin critical conversations at the earliest age, Antiracist Baby is the perfect gift for readers of all ages dedicated to forming a just socie

Not My Idea: A Book About Whiteness

12 August 2020 | By Anastasia Higginbotham | Filed in: race.

Not My Idea, the latest in the critically acclaimed Ordinary Terrible Things series, is a book about whiteness n nA white child sees TV news coverage of a white police officer shooting a brown person whose hands were up Upset, he asks his mother why she deflects, assuring him that he is safe Later

Inconvenient Daughter

12 August 2020 | By Lauren J. Sharkey | Filed in: race.

A vibrant and provocative debut novel that dispels myths surrounding transracial adoption n nRowan Kelly knows she s lucky After all, if she hadn t been adopted, she could have spent her days in a rice paddy, or a windowless warehouse assembling iPhones they make iPhones in Korea, right Either way,

The Vanishing Half

12 August 2020 | By Brit Bennett | Filed in: race.

The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it s not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it s everything their families, their communities, their racial identities.

Such a Fun Age

12 August 2020 | By Kiley Reid | Filed in: race.

In the midst of a family crisis one late evening, white blogger Alix Chamberlain calls her African American babysitter, Emira, asking her to take toddler Briar to the local market for distraction There, the security guard accuses Emira of kidnapping Briar, and Alix s efforts to right the situation